Buddy Wonton Seafood Restaurant

Writing from the dead here. Been down with a super flu, and all I wanted was Matzo ball soup, which I haven’t been able to find in this city, yet. Mom used to make this great Wonton Soup when I was sick, and I was craving it, and counting on its super healing powers to make me stop feeling like a bag of crap.

I’ve been to Buddy Wonton a few times now, on my friend Tracey’s recommendation. It’s within walking distance of my house (104th st and Whyte ave, just past the Pint, in the shopping center of Royal Pizza and Dollarstore), and they deliver pretty much anywhere in the University area. Free if you order $30 minimum, which is no big deal here. Big points for free delivery, man!

So, as this is a composite review, pics will be from different trips. And I’m sure you don’t want to see pictures of ol’ bigvinny when he’s nearing the white light.

If you’re looking for fast, cheap-ish, and greasy chinese food, Buddy Wonton is the way to go. I always do a little bit of research before I check any place out, and the recommendations were: green beans (8), combo fried rice ($13), crispy garlic-chicken ($14?). With the exception of the fried rice, which could have used a little bit of anchovy (shut up, its a classic), both were fantastic.

The fried rice in question: Not bad, BBQ pork, chicken, shrimp, not enough egg to satisfy a Tedjasaputra though.

This one particular trip I opted for the Wor Wonton Soup, actually the last time I went, Robyn ordered a large ($12, ok, a HUGE), so in keeping with tradition… Don’t worry. That’s a normal face, and the soup is decent, just needs salt! Wish it came out a little hotter though. Not sure it’s working for my illness, but it’s pretty yummy.

Well, it boils down to this: Short of driving to Chinatown (97th Ave), which is pretty sketchy, even for this danger seeking daredevil,  Buddy Wonton is not a bad place to get your Chinese Food fix. Fast (like 4 minutes for your food to come out), BIG portions, reasonable prices, family owned.. This is pretty good value. I’ve certainly had much better chinese food at better prices in the US, but in Edmonton, this is a regular stop of mine now.

Grade: B+

Bigvinnysd

 

Buddy Wonton Seafood Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment